Challenging Research

by Tom Hills

As you might expect, the idea of 30 day challenges isn’t new. I’ve spent the last few days looking for other people doing challenges, some lasting 30 days and some not. I found that not many people are doing proper challenges.

Most of the challengers were doing blog based challenges, like the one we’re doing on One Chicken Nugget. The challenge will be along the lines of “Blog Everyday For a Month“, or they will be based around writing on a certain topic, different ones for different days – such as a 30 day photo challenge. There is a huge list of these type of 30 day challenges in one tumblr blog here.

There are also the larger community driven challenges. This one is the “Live A Better Life In 30 Days Challenge“, where the conductor of the mass challenge set tasks in the morning of each day for the challengers to complete. The aim is to improve your life.

The GOOD 30-day challenges are all about improving the planet and your health, with challenges like “Waste Less” and “Go Vegetarian“.

What I’m not finding are the things I thought I would, like this. I thought I might find more challenges that are challenging. Writing a 50,000 word novel in 30 days. That’s a challenge! This happens in the month of November, but I can’t find other ‘ready-made’ challenges like this. Perhaps you know of some?

It looks like our challenges may need to be created, ideally they’ll be:

  • Fun
  • Challenging, but not life dominating
  • Interactive
  • Interesting

Can you think of a challenge that will fit the bill?

